Procreate Handbook

Version 5X
Brushes

Import and Share

Importing and exporting brushes allows you to give and receive unique tools.

Import Brushes

Import Procreate (.brush) and Adobe® Photoshop® (.ABR) brushes into Procreate.

You can add Procreate brushes and Adobe® Photoshop® brushes to your Brush Library in two ways:

In-app Import

Import brushes created by other people straight into your copy of Procreate.

Tap the + button to create a new brush, then find the Import button at the top right to import a brush from the Files app. The brush will be imported into your currently selected Brush Set.

File Association

Work directly with brush files.

If you have a .brush or .ABR file online or in an email, tap it, and you will see a prompt to import the brush into Procreate. Your new brush will be placed in a specially created folder called Imported. Scroll to the bottom of your Brush Library to see it.

Drag and Drop Brushes

Drag and Drop brushes in and out of Procreate to share or import them instantly.

Export brushes

Press and hold on a brush to pick it up, then drag it into any compatible application.

To export multiple brushes at the same time, press and hold a single brush to pick it up, then tap other brushes with your free hand to add them to your selection. Now you can Drag and Drop them all at once.

Import brushes

Press and hold on a .brush or .ABR file to pick it up, then drag it into Procreate.

Press and hold on a .brush file in Files app or any other compatible application, and Drag and Drop it into Procreate to import it instantly. As above, you can import multiple brushes by picking up one brush and tapping additional brushes to Drag and Drop them together.

Custom Sets

Organise brushes into your own custom Brush Sets.

Create a new Brush Set

If you drag your Brush Set list downward, you’ll see a blue + button appear at the top. Tap this to create a new Brush Set. You can create as many custom sets as you like, and drag your new group to any position in the Brush Set list.

Custom Set Options

Tap your custom Brush Set to reveal a menu with options to Rename, Delete, Share, and Duplicate.

1 2 3 4
1

Rename

By default, a new Brush Set is named Untitled Set. To customise this title, tap it, then tap Rename.

2

Delete

Delete a custom Brush Set. Be careful - this can’t be undone.

3

Share

Export your custom Brush Set as a single file containing all the brushes in that set.

4

Duplicate

Duplicate an entire Brush Set. You can also duplicate Procreate’s default Brush Sets.